Stroll Before the Storm… Are You Ready?

Hi,

First off… Look out, we have a Nor’ Easter coming! (Have you stocked up on your wine today?)

Accuweather.com says:

“The combination of strong winds and heavy snowfall on Wednesday will cause some roads to become impassable as the snow quickly accumulates and drifts. Snow drifts could reach 4 feet in many areas by Wednesday night. The winds will howl past 40 mph at times, with some gusts to 50 mph along the coast.

Motorists who are able to travel will encounter whiteout conditions and very slick, snow-covered roads throughout the day and into the evening. In addition to blowing and drifting the snow, the winds could down snow-laden trees and power lines.”

I know what you must be thinking, “What does a cat do to prepare for a winter storm?” Well, aside from the usual preparedness, I ponder the insanity of the upcoming cork counting contest, pot-luck block party, and police involvement and then I wander Harwich Port and swim the warm waters of memories. (Da Gizz doesn’t even know that I have dupes of his store keys… Hehehe!) Ahhh, back to the recollections… There’s the Port-O-Call Gift Shop

Why, I remember back in the late ’60s (or early ’70s) hopping on my bike and riding to the port to get a birthday gift for my mom. They had the coolest stuff… The nicest stuff… The warmest people… It was as if we went back in time and place to Mayberry and we might just have bumped into Andy and Opie… The shop is still that way – cozy and good.

Hey! I heard that! You think I couldn’t ride a bicycle when I was a kitten??? Is that what you’re thinking Bunky?!? Well, let me tell you… I’m a cat of many talents! Take a look below at just one of my umpteen TV appearances… I’m the second black-and-white cat in the opening shot and can clearly be seen throughout the entire piece.

Look… I’d love to tell you about the Hollywood parties with Robert Duvall, and the training sessions with Lance Armstrong, but the winds are picking up…

Hope you’ve got your wine/beer/lottery/snack stockpile like I have. (Bruce just cannot figure out where all the good stuff goes…)

Two Fat and Happy Cats Blogging

P.S. I will admit that I never could ring that damned handle-bar bell with my dew claw… I’ll give you that much… But the rest is all true.


Wine Glossaries

* Nat Decants: A thorough glossary from Natalie MacLean, noted wine writer, speaker, and judge.
* eRobertParker.com: “The Independent Consumer’s Guide to Fine Wines”
* GLOSSARY of Wine-Tasting Terminology (Version 1.4 – Jan. 1995): A thorough collection of definitions from Anthony Hawkins.

Beer Glossaries

* ratebeer: Now that’s a straightforward name!
* beer-pages: Roger Protz and Tom Cannavan say that “it’s all about beer”.
* alphaDictionary.com: A fine collection of Beer dictionaries.

Leave a Reply

