Harwich Spirits Shoppe Ghost and Insiders’ Wine Sale

Ponchita…” I uttered to myself, “You are deep in the Land of Doo-Dee!” I mean, this wasn’t the first time I’d seen the blue-eyed, floating apparition of the owner and crazy person, Bruce Giz, but it was the first time I faced it alone and in the dark. “Not much to be done…” I thought. “Might as well photograph the thing, then slink while the slinking is good.” Fighting the challenge of missing opposable thumbs, I used my cell phone to capture the image below. (“Who would sell a cell to a cat?” I fleetingly pondered…)

Anywho, sans my fellow-feline buddy Cisco (where is that slug when you need him?), about all I could do was back into the store and noodle that old saying, “Paws don’t fail me now…

Yup, I was a cat in reverse. (Technically, we’re called “beep beep beep cats” for obvious reasons.) But it was an interesting reverse. The first wine I passed was a Pacific Peak Chardonnay… This is a Chard that settles in the middle of the pack as far as taste profile. Slight oak but fresh and crisp from the stainless steel fermentation process. If You like ANY Chardonnays, You’ll like this one…. I Guarantee it, or I don’t have whiskers! BTW this is Mrs. Giz’ favorite wine. It’s an all purpose tonic, will go with everything…’specially friends. Regular price $15… NOW $9. “No wonder Giz is restless” I thought as I continued my slow, courageous retreat.

Second on my backward march to the sea was Del Palio Sangiovese. The grape variety for all Chianti and many other great Italian wines as well as wines from California. Soft and mellow for red wine yet an underlying pungent earthy quality. Superb with b-b-q, grilled meats, zesty cheeses and toasted Italian subs from your local pizza store! regular price $16. NOW $12. or 2/$20… Yeah, the ol’ blue-eyed Giz Ghost has good reason to be wandering the store.

Last on my tail-first stroll was the William Hill 2005 Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. This is a blockbuster of a wine… Excellent vintage that drinks now with 3 hours breathing [decanting is best]. It surprises nicely even for experienced wine drinkers, and shows new enthusiasts how good wine can be. Although oak aged, the oak is not over powering. The true Cabernet fruit comes through with all its richness of black cherries, charcoal and faint licorice… The William Hill 2005 marries well with spiced meat dishes, massive roasts, fat steaks, char-grilled anything, or just a home-made hamburger!
regular price $25. NOW $17.

Wines aside, I seized my chance! I had craftily drawn Giz-Gho to his collection of cigars by the front door and distracted him. “HA!” I thought as I sprinted by him and exited stage left to the back of the store. Let his insane sale last till 1/1/10 or until he runs out of stock.

I was safe and Da Giz meanders the store still… Shhh… Hiding by the racks…

One half of Two Cats Blogging

 


Wine Glossaries

* Nat Decants: A thorough glossary from Natalie MacLean, noted wine writer, speaker, and judge.
* eRobertParker.com: “The Independent Consumer’s Guide to Fine Wines”
* GLOSSARY of Wine-Tasting Terminology (Version 1.4 – Jan. 1995): A thorough collection of definitions from Anthony Hawkins.

Beer Glossaries

* ratebeer: Now that’s a straightforward name!
* beer-pages: Roger Protz and Tom Cannavan say that “it’s all about beer”.
* alphaDictionary.com: A fine collection of Beer dictionaries.

One Response to Harwich Spirits Shoppe Ghost and Insiders’ Wine Sale

  1. […] for a beginning wine cellar/closet. (Ask us how and why to start one.) `2-As mentioned in a previous post, the William Hill Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon 2005 is good stuff.  It’s on sale and is a […]

Leave a Reply

